T minus 2 weeks. First false alarm.

Standard

So I’m 38 weeks’ pregnant today, and if you’d spoken to me at 1am this morning I would have said there was a 50:50 chance I’d be fully en route to baby #2 by now. Just after midnight I woke up with tummy ache which came and went in waves. Going to the loo didn’t make any difference so I lay there for another hour or so contemplating things and wondering about the imminent logistics if I was going into labour; including:

  • Had my dear BF taken a sleeping tablet which would mean he’d be completely hopeless at getting the car seat out of the loft and, needless to say, driving me to the hosp
  • What to do with the toddler. We have two friends on standby, which is fine in concept, but less so at 2am in the morning when you’re wondering whether to call them, and their own consequential logistics for getting children to nursery etc.
  • The fact it’s one of the friend’s birthday’s today and I really didn’t want to wake her in the small hours, but if I did, would I remember to give her her birthday card?

Anyway this went on until about 2ish, with intermittent period-pain style aches (just like labour last time), and then I went to the loo again, had a full bout of diarrhoea, and then back to bed thinking it’s either now or never. No one else in the house had an upset tummy, despite us all eating the same things, and it’s been known for labour to empty your bowels to try to clear the way.

However as it was I had a cuddle from the BF and went to sleep until about 7ish when the toddler woke up. So no labour after all.

This is a Good Thing as I have lots of work to do today and still need to choose a carpet for our bedroom (we are sleeping in the spare room at the mo). But I really might start packing my hospital bag properly soon. So far it contains:

  • Pyjamas
  • 4 bottles of isotonic drink
  • Pack of maternity pads (nice) left over from last time
  • Packet of jaffa cakes
  • Oh, and a packet of nappies for newborns.

I had bought a jumbo packet of Jelly Babies (as recommended by the antenatal class), but unfortunately left them in the car and ate them all within 48 hours. Which also, interestingly, was not good for the digestion.

Leave a Reply

